Scientific Advisory Board

Scientific Advisory BoardScientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is made up of prestigious and internationally recognized scientists. They play an important role evaluating, guiding and advising the director in the task of directing the research in the most suitable and efficient way. They are responsible of the scientific evaluation of the research programmes that take place every four years.
Currently, this Board has 15 members.


Prof. Tariq Enver
UCL Cancer Institute, London, United Kingdom 


Prof. Brenda J. Andrews, PhD, CC, FRSC
Charles H. Best Chair of Medical Research
Director, The Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research
Professor, Department of Molecular Genetics
University of Toronto, Canada
Prof. Naama Barkai
Department of Molecular Genetics, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel
Prof. Peter B. Becker, ML
Divison of Molecular Biology, Biomedical Center, Faculty of Medicine, LMU Munich, Germany
Prof. Margaret Buckingham
Professor Emeritus at the Institut Pasteur, Paris, France, and exceptional grade senior researcher emeritus at the CNRS
Prof. Denis Duboule
Professor of Developmental Genetics and Genomics, EPFL and Department of Genetics and Evolution, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Prof. Roland Eils 
BioQuant & German Cancer Research Center, Heidelberg, Germany
Prof. Scott D. Emr
Weill Institute for Cell and Molecular Biology, Cornell University, Ithaca, USA 
Prof. Eileen E. Furlong
Head of Genome Biology Unit, Group Leader & Senior Scientist, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg, Germany
Prof. Anthony Hyman 
Director and Scientific Member, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, Germany
Prof. Eugene V. Koonin, PhD 
Senior Investigator, NCBI, NLM, NIH, Bethesda, USA
Prof. Angela Nieto
Institute for Neurosciences, CSIC-UMH, Alicante, Spain 
Prof. Laura P.W. Ranum
Center for NeuroGenetics, University of Florida, Gainesville, USA 
Prof. Henk Stunnenberg
Dept. of Molecular Biology, Faculties of Science & Medicine, Radboud University, The Netherlands
Prof. Magdalena Zernicka-Goetz
Professor of Mammalian Development and Stem Cell Biology, University of Cambridge, UK