Gene Regulation, Stem Cells and Cancer

Gene Regulation, Stem Cells and CancerGene Regulation, Stem Cells and Cancer

Gene Regulation, Stem Cells and Cancer

  • Research programme page
  • Members


Co-Coordinators: Fátima Gebauer and Luciano Di Croce

The interests of the program span from mechanisms of gene expression, epigenetic and epitranscriptomic regulation to the molecular basis of cellular decisions involved in tissue homeostasis and cancer.

Mechanistic and biological studies of gene regulation span the whole pathway of gene expression, including chromatin organization, transcription and splicing in the cell nucleus, mRNA translation in the cytoplasm, as well as signaling and RNA modification. Transcriptional regulation groups study chromatin structure and regulation mediated by steroid hormones (Dr. Miguel Beato), effects of dosage imbalance of chromosome 21 (Dr. Susana de la Luna), epigenetic mechanisms in cancer and stem cells (Dr. Luciano Di Croce), single cell epigenomics in lymphomas (Dr. Renee Beekman), and epigenetic regulation of cancer metabolism (Dr. Sara Sdelci). RNA biology groups study the identification and control of RNA modifications (Dr. Eva Novoa), the regulation of alternative splicing (Dr. Juan Valcárcel) and the regulation of mRNA translation (Dr. Fátima Gebauer).

Cell reprogramming studies include differentiation and trans-differentiation in the hematopoietic system (Dr. Thomas Graf), somatic cell reprogramming and tissue regeneration by cell fusion (Dr. Maria Pia Cosma) and epigenetic reprogramming in embryogenesis and the germline (Dr. Bernhard Payer).

Mechanisms of gene expression control, cell reprogramming and differentiation are studied in the context of a variety of diseases including cancer (leukemia, lymphoma, pancreatic and lung adenocarcinomas, gliomas, melanoma, breast cancer), retinal degeneration, Down syndrome and fertility disorders.

SOCIAL ACTIVITIES: The program’s retreat, November 2019 (pictures and video)

SOCIAL ACTIVITIES: The program’s retreat, November 2016 (pictures)

SOCIAL ACTIVITIES: The program’s retreat, October 2013 (pictures)


Juan Valcárcel Juárez
Thomas Graf
Miguel Beato del Rosal
Luciano Di Croce
Maria Pia Cosma
Fátima Gebauer
Susana De la Luna Gargantilla
Bernhard Payer
Eva Maria Novoa
Sara Sdelci
Renée Beekman


Marc A. Marti-Renom
Manuel Irimia
Donate Weghorn
Lars Velten


Integrated in a senior research group, Staff Scientists support the research of the group, while having a degree of scientific independence to lead their own research line (i.e. co‐mentoring of PhD students, being senior authors in publications and applying for grants). As Faculty Members, Staff Scientists are evaluated every 4 years by an external committee composed of SAB and ad‐hoc members in the framework of the Programme’s evaluation.

Marie Victoire Neguembor
Sergio Aranda Aragón
Grégoire Stik
Sophie Bonnal